flux (n) – continuous change, passage or movement.

Lots has happened since the beginning of time. Dinosaurs have roamed, civilizations have thrived and subsequently collapsed; all the while, people carry on with their daily business. I’ve lived for 19 years, a very brief moment in the grand scheme of things. But up until now, my life has been in a constant state of flux. Things change, people come in and out of your life, but most interesting (to this blog anyway) is the numerous jobs that I’ve had.
When I was 15 I got my first job at a local egg farm (think Napoleon Dynamite but worse) – I sorted through eggs that were spat from the barns onto a conveyer belt and much to my Mum’s dismay, would come home smelling worse than the household bin. Have I painted a picture yet?

After my brief stint in the poultry industry I became involved in volunteer work through the Duke of Edinburgh Scheme, helping out at the Appin Historical Society , mainly doing admin and design work for a few hours a week. Then I finished high school and moved out of the area, quickly falling into a job at a kiosk by the beach. I still work there, as well as a few clubs and bars around town – all the while trying to overcome my deep-rooted fear of chickens 😐

My point here isn’t to keep you up to speed with my resume credentials, but to show that just as Mark Deuze explains in ‘Liquid Life, Convergence Culture, and Media Work’, “…careers are a sequence of stepping stones through life, where workers as individuals and organizations as collectives do not commit to each other for much more than the short-term goal, the project at hand, the talent needed now.”  It’s this constant employment uncertainty that Zygmunt Bauman has coined ‘liquid life’ (Bauman Z, 2005). So, my life exhibits liquidity and flux perfectly up until now, but when will it end? Can we all expect our careers to span through a continual state of flux and impermanence?

– Orcadia 🙂

Sources:

– Bauman, Z (2005), Work, Consumerism and the New Poor, 2nd edition. London: Open University Press.
One thought on “flux (n) – continuous change, passage or movement.

  1. I really like you’re take on the reading i found it very interesting. It’s funny to think that these days we go through jobs so quickly whereas 40 years ago people would stick to the one job their whole life. I can’t even begin to imagine staying in the one job, i think as such a tech savvy world we have to constantly be upgrading and changing technology along with our career as we get bored of things very easily and i do believe that this is because of technology as we always want whats new.

Leave a Reply

