ApPl3 4 lYf !

There’s no denying it. I’m an apple user and after some research into the topic, I’ve also just discovered that I am an ‘apple fanboy’!

Whatever it is…the streamlined design, user-friendly layout or the superior social status it provides, owning anything apple just makes me feel good.

Two days ago I was alerted to the fact that, whilst Apple still holds a major place in the market, Android technology is fast approaching, with sales in the US last quarter being greater than those of the almighty Mac!  For first time buyers, it seems, the android is steadily becoming the number one choice. Personally, I’ve always thought that the people with Android phones were… for lack of a better term, ‘geeky’! I find that navigating through an android is virtually impossible whereas the user-friendly and easily navigable iPhone can be operated with ease by almost anyone (except my mum).

Despite being briefly educated on the amazing technology that is Android, I feel hesitant to say that I myself would veer from my comfortable Apple bubble and purchase something of such daunting capabilities. My hesitancy is not shared by the majority of the US phone users however, as seen in a report compiled by comScore.

Ross Rubin, NPD analyst states Android has been criticized for offering a more complex user experience than its competitors, but the company’s wide carrier support and large app selection is appealing to new smartphone customers”. The obvious positives of this quote include the increased potential for creation and distribution of content by users (therefore ‘prosumers’). Yet the fact that Android powered phones are harder to adapt to (and therefore take full advantage of) makes me feel as though the security and user friendly layout of my trusty iPhone is enough to keep me happy.

The iPhone is pretty much childs-play right?

I recognize that the Android movement is hot on our heels but I don’t feel as though the technology it provides is necessary to the everyday person like myself, with the iPhone keeping me more than occupied.


– Orcadia

Leave a Reply

